Some NASTY Stuff!

Posted on July 7, 2012 by


So – this is disgusting.  But – bear with me, I do have a point!  I noticed some sticky, thick brown liquid on the floor under our coat pegs yesterday.  At first I thought it was some kind of dried up Coke or something.  But further investigation revealed something horrible.  Apparently, I had left a piece of fresh fruit or vegetable in a grocery bag and had hung other things over it over the past 3-4 weeks – I am guessing.  I couldn’t even tell what it used to be!  And I didn’t want to try. 

When I lifted all the scarves and purses away, there was the grocery bag with dozens of fruit flies in it and gooey, brown, putrified pure nastiness oozing out of the bottom of the bag.  YUCK!!!!!!!!!!!  I got that cleaned up right away.  But even the purse and scarves and sweaters that had been just hanging near that bag smelled of rot.

WHAT IS MY POINT?

I started thinking about sin.  The longer it sits there in my soul – the more it just rots and putrifies, too.  And the more repugnant it is to our Holy God. 

Think about when our pride, un-forgiveness, anger, bitterness, resentment, disrespect, hatred, vying for control, lust, jealousy, greed, idolatry, selfishness and those kinds of things just sit unchecked in our souls.  They give Satan a foothold into our souls to begin his destructive work of spreading rot, fungus, mildew, mold and decay deep into our souls.  And then, even bigger and yuckier things like rats and bugs might come live in the filth and contaminate everything even more. 

Our God is a holy God.  He cannot tolerate the presence of the “smallest” sin.  It is repulsive to Him.  If we hang on to the sin, God has to break fellowship with us.  When we aren’t in fellowship with God, we lose all of His powerful Spirit working in us.  This is NOT GOOD, dear friends!

KEEP SHORT ACCOUNTS

We need to IMMEDIATELY confess any and every sin to God and get things handled as quickly as possible!  The longer we wait, the worse the sin gets, the stronger Satan’s hold over us.  As soon as I realize I am thinking pridefully or struggling with un-forgiveness or being tempted – I must capture those thoughts for Christ and confess them.  I must repent quickly – turning completely away from my sin and toward God.  That keeps me close to God.  This keeps me from allowing Satan to get all comfy and cozy in my life.  It’s how I don’t grieve the Spirit of God so that He can empower me.

I can’t live the life God wants me to if I am cherishing sin and nastiness in my soul.  I need God’s power to do the things He has called me to do and be.  The only way to do this is to keep the sin OUT!

Lord,

I pray that You might convict us of our sins.  Help us to see all of them just the way You see them.  Help us to confess each one and repent and turn to You.  Let us live with Your Spirit filling us and empowering us and enabling us to be the godly wives and mothers You desire us to be!  Let us leave a godly legacy to all those who know us, Lord!

Amen.

Posted in: honoring God