Why Long Hair?

Posted on August 30, 2012 by


20120830-081331.jpg

Me working at the pharmacy

Ladies,

I wore my hair long all through high school, college and until I had children. My husband always LOVED my hair long. Then when my children were very young I got tired of my hair always being in a ponytail and decided that long hair was way too much work. Babies like to grab long hair by the fist-full and yank a lot of it out. And it seemed to me like I was spending too much time on the whole hair thing.

I knew my husband LOVED my hair long. But, back then, sadly, I didn’t give much weight to his feelings and opinions. It was MY hair, after all. I was the one who had to wear it, wash it and fix it. So I cut it off -VERY short at one point with complete disregard for my husband’s feelings. (And then I cried a lot – because I realized I lost something precious.)

IS SHORT HAIR WRONG?

I don’t think that short hair on women is a sin. I don’t think the Bible supports that idea.  This is a decision every woman must make on her own – between herself and God, and between herself and her husband when she is married.  I am certainly not insisting that all women must have long hair  – or that women should never ever cut their hair.

This post is about why I chose to grow my hair long again and why I keep it long.

Here is a passage about women’s hair (and also wearing a covering over our head when we pray out of reverence for our husband’s/father’s authority over us – which I began doing 2.5 years ago – but that is a different post!  It really helped me “get” the concept of respecting my husband’s authority over me and cherishing his protection and covering over me.  I felt closer to him than ever – and it helped me be humble before God.)

Now I want you to realize that the head of every man is Christ, and the head of the woman is man, and the head of Christ is God. Every man who prays or prophesies with his head covered dishonors his head. And every woman who prays or prophesies with her head uncovered dishonors her head – it is just as though her head were shaved. If a woman does not cover her head, she should have her hair cut off; and if it is a disgrace for a woman to have her hair cut or shaved off, she should cover her head. A man ought not to cover his head, since he is the image and glory of God; but the woman is the glory of man. For man did not come from woman, but woman from man; neither was man created for woman, but woman for man. For this reason, and because of the angels, the woman ought to have a sign of authority on her head.

In the Lord, however, woman is not independent of man, nor is man independent of woman. For as woman came from man, so also man is born of woman. But everything comes from God. Judge for yourselves: Is it proper for a woman to pray to God with her head uncovered? Does not the very nature of things teach you that if a man has long hair, it is a disgrace to him, but that if a woman has long hair, it is her glory? For long hair is given to her as a covering. If anyone wants to be contentious about this, we have no other practice- nor do the churches of God. I Corinthians 11:2-16

This is a VERY UNPOPULAR section of scripture that, for the most part, is totally ignored by Christian women today.

I have a post about why I cover my head when I pray here. http://wp.me/p2is8W-cr

What I see is that scripture isn’t saying it is a sin for a woman to have short hair or to not cover her head when she prays – but it is a disgrace to her. She dishonors her head.

Many people say that this chapter is about culture instead of commands from God that are relevant to us today. But I think it is dangerous to dismiss commands in scripture, deciding for myself that it doesn’t apply to me. That would be prideful and arrogant on my part.

To me, this is a life giving passage for my marriage and my identity as a woman. Here is where I see that my husband is the spiritual authority over me and that God gave him to me to protect, provide and care for me. Here is where I see a glimpse into how angels are somehow affected by my choices to show proper respect for my husband’s authority over me. Here I see that the order of creation of man and woman are important components in our identity spiritually. Here I see that God gave me long hair for my glory – to be beautiful. And that my glory is not to be the focus when I am praying.

MY PERSONAL CHOICE

So, I now keep this passage in mind, remembering that long hair is my glory – and that my glory is to be covered when I am praying – not because of some cultural thing from 2000 years ago but because that is what God says. I decided a few years ago that if God puts something plainly in scripture – I want to obey Him out of respect to Him and love for Him, even if I don’t understand what He is asking me to do, even if I don’t agree with it and even if it is unpopular.

What if this passage was cultural and God somehow accidentally left it in scripture. What do I lose by having long hair or by covering my head when I pray? Nothing of any importance! But I believe that when God sees me choose to obey and honor Him that brings great joy to His heart.

So, I honor my husband’s desire to see me with long hair. And I honor God’s Word by choosing to have long hair as my glory and to cover my head when I pray because I will honor my head, my husband and Christ when I do this.

Now – God’s Word and my husband’s opinions play a MUCH bigger role in how I make decisions – instead of just my own convenience or my own selfish desires.

I have to ask myself when I decide about things – WHY am I doing it? Is it for MY glory? Is it for MY pride or vanity? Is it for God’s glory? Will it honor my husband?

Honestly – short hair was a LOT more work! I had to mess with it and style it every day. Long hair truly hasn’t been a burden. And my husband loves to play with my hair every night while we cuddle together. It’s my favorite time of the day. I feel loved, cherished, adored, feminine and beautiful.

Lord,

I pray that You will help us to look at all things through Your eyes. Help us to have Your perspective. Help us to have willing, obedient hearts when we read Your Word. Let us bring the greatest glory and honor to Your Name and Your gospel. Thank You for the Bible. Thank You for the directions You give us that lead us to abundant life. Help us to cling to You, love You with all our hearts, minds, souls and strength and empower us to love others as You love us.

In the Name of Christ,

Amen!

20120830-081251.jpg

