Greg and I Are Celebrating 20 Years of Marriage!

Posted on May 26, 2014 by


Celebrating our 20th anniversary last Friday

Celebrating our 20th anniversary last Friday

I am so thankful to share that this week is our 20th wedding anniversary! Greg and I were married when I was 21 and he was 22 on May 28, 1994. His dad was our pastor and performed the ceremony. My Daddy walked me down the aisle and gave us his blessing.

 

 

photo 1-2

 

photo 4

 

 

photo 2-2

 

Funny little story…

I am an identical twin sister. My sister was my maid of honor, so she walked down the aisle right before the flower girl did. Many people at our church didn’t realize I had a twin and were appalled, asking each other, “Why is April wearing a black dress for her wedding?!!?? And WHERE is her father?!?!?”

Of course, after the flower girl walked down the aisle, my Daddy and I came in. Not to worry, I was wearing a white dress.

How I wish the me now could sit down with the 21 year old me back then that morning of the wedding and shared what I know now. Not sure I would have been able to absorb any of it at that point in my life. But wow, how I wish I had better understood God’s design for me as a believer, as a godly woman and as a godly wife in much more detail. I don’t have regrets, though, because God is using my years of not understanding and how He has been changing me the past 5.5 years to bless so many others. I could never repay Him for all He has done for me and for us.

Greg and I are not perfect now. We never will be perfect until heaven. But God has brought us so far from where we were and has empowered us to have victory in so many ways. We still have much to learn. I want to learn and absorb everything I can from God and His Word every day for the rest of my life.

For our anniversary this year, Greg took me out to an amazing dinner and then to our favorite Italian ice place last Friday night, Paradise Ice. Then we explored a section of town we had never seen before. I love exploring new places together!

IMG_0350

IMG_0352

 

I am so thankful that God did not give up on me. I am so thankful Greg did not give up on me. I praise God for opening my eyes to my sin and for radically changing my heart and my life. I am grateful for God’s forgiveness, mercy and grace that He has offered me so freely through Jesus. And I am thankful for Greg’s forgiveness, mercy and grace. On my own, I am nothing but a wretched sinner. It is only through Jesus living and working in me that there is any good in me.

Each of you are a precious part of this journey for me. I love sharing this road together with you. I am in awe of all that God has done here among us. I can’t wait to see all that He has in store for each of us. I am thankful that we can encourage, pray for, exhort, bless, cry, share and love one another here. You are each a blessing to me.

I know that I am where God desires me to be doing what He wants me to do. I count myself to be the most blessed woman on the planet because of what Jesus has done for me and I long to see everyone experience the abundant life He has provided for all of us. If I were to die today, I would be content and ready to stand before Christ and meet my Lord. The thing I look forward to the most, besides meeting Jesus face to face and knowing Him more fully, is that I can’t wait to hear all of your stories and to see all that God has done and will do in your lives and how His power, love and truth will ripple out around the world from this group of believers. If I don’t get to meet you here, I look forward very much to hugging your neck in heaven.

image3

Greg,

I am so thankful to be your wife. I know I didn’t have a clue what I was promising to do 20 years ago when we got married. But I am very glad to belong to you. Thank you for your steadfast and faithful love. Thank you for seeking to be a godly man, husband and father. Thank you for submitting yourself to Christ. Thank you for demonstrating the unconditional love and humble, selfless leadership of Jesus to me and to our children.

I pray that I might be able to use every day we have left together on this earth to bless you, to be a good gift for you from God, to honor you, to bring you joy, to strengthen you, to be your friend and to bring great glory to Christ in our marriage and family. There is no other place I would rather be than right here by your side. I am excited to watch God at work in your life and to see His plans for you, for us and for our children.

 

with all my love and admiration,

April

 

 

Posted in: Uncategorized