“Weaning Myself Off of Worldly Beauty”

Posted on June 13, 2014 by


Haley and April - 2013

Haley and April – 2013

From a wife I greatly admire and respect. I appreciate her willingness to share!

Wow !!!! I have not had access to the internet for several days so i was going through the posts I’ve missed (about worldly beauty vs. godly beauty this week on http://www.peacefulwife.com) and I am about to fall out my computer chair.

This has been a major focus for myself and my two younger daughters lately. The question we have been asking God is what is true beauty? After running with a friend one day and discussing 1 peter 3, i felt led to try an experiment, I wasnt going to wear any makeup or jewelry for two weeks and focus on inward adornment. Not to be legalistic just as a personal choice to see how important my outward beauty was to me. I did good until it was time to leave home and face the outside world not all “dolled up”. Then God’s Spirit gently began to deal with me and show me how I was getting some worth and value in the compliments I get or in how much I fit in with the fashion in trends of the world. I didn’t even see this before.

But He began to take my hand and walk me into freedom and fill that need to be accepted and approved of and found beautiful with Himself. He satisfies!!!!! He changed my desires, instead of wanting to look beautiful in the eyes of man and wanting people to look at me and admire something that I possess, He replaced that desire with a longing for people to look at me and and see HIS beauty radiating through me. I read a devotional by Leslie Ludy on this topic that really blessed me in it she said,

“Any human beauty, any human value that we might find within ourselves is just a filthy rag compared to the limitless beauty and glory of Jesus Christ. Christ’s beauty is perfect. And, in spite of what we deserve, He desires to adorn us with His spectacular glory. It is not our unique beauty that must shine for this world to see and it is not our own beauty that we must discover and embrace – it is His.”

Spurgeon said:

“If a soul has any beauty, it is because Christ has endowed that soul with His own, for in ourselves we are deformed and defiled! There is no beauty in any of us but what our Lord has worked in us.”

These truths were so freeing to me, like every other aspect of the Christian life Jesus does not call us to improve or try to change ourselves He says Come and DIE and let me live through you. are you impatient? let My patience shine through you. Are you proud? let my humility shine through you. Are you bitter? let my forgiveness shine through you. Are you insecure do you feel ugly? let my beauty shine through you. Jesus is the solution. He is our beauty inner and outer.
As He did this work in my heart I began to talk to my daughters who are 9 and 6 about true beauty and I was surprised to see just how much this world has already tried to suck them in to an obssesion with outward beauty which is fleeting compared to eternity. My youngest was convinced she wasnt pretty because she lost a tooth. We read a chapter in a book about godly feminity for girls and this quote really stood out to me.

“A desire to be beautiful is not unwomanly, but true beauty is not of the face but of the soul, there is a beauty so deep and lasting that it will shine out of the homeliest face and make it pretty.”

Wow, I wish I would have read things like this when I was a child and teenager. I feel if I would have grasped theses truths, I would have done things a lot differently.

I was just excited to see that you ladies were talking about the same things God has been speaking to me about in my life. He is so awesome!!!!!

