Thoughts on Self-Hatred

Posted on August 17, 2014 by


1046561_63759639

Self loathing, body image issues, false humility and low self esteem are actually forms of pride. They are insidious. But, the idea is,

“I am not content with how God made me. What God has given me (my body, my life or my circumstances), is not good enough. God was not good to me.”

Thankfully, even if a woman is “the most ugly woman in the world” by human standards, she can be beautiful in God’s sight and she can develop the beauty of a gentle, peaceful spirit that does what is right and does not give way to fear. She is just as equally precious in the sight of God as every other person on the planet. She, too, is “made in the image of God.” And she can absolutely have confidence in her skin as she lives in the power of God’s Spirit.

The only one who benefits when we hate our bodies and our appearance is the enemy of our souls.
Here is a template for how we could approach the body image issues…

We can talk to God, confessing the things about our bodies for which we are not thankful – and asking His forgiveness. Then we can praise and thank God for:

– our particular body
– our hair
– our facial features
– our skin
– our health
– the gift of this life which is such a treasure

And we can pray:

“Dear God,

Thank You for giving me this body in Your sovereignty. Forgive me for not being grateful. Forgive me for listening to the messages of the world about beauty that are not true. Forgive me for focusing on hating myself and my appearance. Help me to accept that what You have made is good. Help me to see the beauty in this body You have so generously and graciously given to me. Thank You that my worth in Your eyes is not found in my appearance or in the approval of the world, or even of a man. Thank You that my worth is totally based on the fact that You created me and You love me more than I could ever understand or fully grasp.

Help me to use this body wisely for Your glory. Show me how I can bless my husband with this body and this life. Show me how I can cultivate the beauty that is so precious to You – a gentle, peaceful spirit that does what is right and does not give way to fear. I yield all of myself to You. I want to be a good steward of my body, my life, my health and my appearance. I want to bring glory to You alone. Help me to see what an incredible gift You have given me with this body. Thank You that no detail has escaped Your notice and that You want to use my body, my life, my heart, my soul and all that I am and all that I have for good and for the glory of Your Name and Your kingdom. Make me fruitful. I accept and receive this life and body You have given me. I want to be thankful for it from now on and I don’t want to complain about it anymore. You give good gifts. I may not understand all of Your decisions and choices at this moment, but I choose to trust You from now on instead of my feelings. And I seek to yield my body, my life and all that I have and all that I am to You. My body is Your temple. I open my heart to allow Your Spirit to have full control and to fill me. I want more and more of You and less and less of me. May Christ alone be greatly exalted in my life!
In the Name and power of Christ Jesus, my LORD,
Amen!”

