I Am Responsible for Myself Spiritually, Not for Others – Part 1

Posted on October 31, 2014 by


I’d like to invite y’all to join the discussion about this topic. I believe every Christian needs to understand where our responsibilities end and the responsibilities of others begins. It would prevent a lot of conflict! And, as we learn to understand what is God’s responsibility vs. our own responsibilities, we find such peace and freedom!

The Peaceful Wife

image

I am not the Holy Spirit. It is not my job to convict my husband – or anyone else – of sin. And it is not my job to make people repent. I don’t get to make people’s decisions for them. I am not them. I don’t have the right to usurp their free will. Even God does not usurp our free will. He allows us to make our own choices.

My husband is not also not the Holy Spirit – and he is not me. I cannot try to make him responsible for me spiritually. He doesn’t get to make my decisions for me.

Yes, he is in a position of delegated spiritual authority over me. God can and will use him to lead me and even to teach me some spiritual things – especially if he is a believer. (I have seen God use unbelieving husbands to…

View original post 1,953 more words

Posted in: Uncategorized