Can’t I Blame Someone Else? – Part 2

Posted on November 3, 2014 by


Who is responsible for my sin? God? Satan? The person who upset me? My parents? I invite you to check out our discussion on Peacefulwife today. This is a foundational spiritual concept that is critical for us to understand our responsibilities vs the responsibilities of God and others.

The Peaceful Wife

IMG_1078

WHO IS RESPONSIBLE FOR SIN?

Gary Thomas, in “Sacred Marriage,” said “We are most tempted to sin when we are sinned against.”

Sin is an archery term that means “to miss the mark.” If the arrow is 20 feet away from the target, that is a “sin.” If the arrow is 1/2 inch away from the target, that is also a “sin.” Sin is anything that misses the mark of God’s holy and perfect standard. This is why we are all “wretched sinners.” None of us can live sinless and perfect lives. Only Jesus was able to do that.

  • If someone sins against me, is it ok in God’s sight for me to take revenge and do something nasty back to that person?

As humans, we often think that if someone sins against us first, then we are justified to sin against that person in return. That is not how…

View original post 2,169 more words

Posted in: Uncategorized