“I Said the Sinner’s Prayer – So, I’m Good with God. I’m Going to Heaven for Sure.”

Posted on November 21, 2014 by


The Peaceful Wife

772289_51863461-1

If you go to an evangelical, Protestant church – there is a good chance that the pastor gives an “invitation” at the end of the service for people to “receive Christ.” People who want to make the decision to become believers in Christ go down to the front of the sanctuary and someone leads them in some version of “The Sinner’s Prayer.” It may sound something like this:

Dear Lord Jesus, I know that I am a sinner, and I ask for Your forgiveness. I believe You died for my sins and rose from the dead. I turn from my sins and invite You to come into my heart and life. I want to trust and follow You as my Lord and Savior. In Your Name.
Amen. (from the Billy Graham Institute)

There is nothing really wrong with praying a prayer like this. In fact, it can and should be…

View original post 1,647 more words

Posted in: Uncategorized