Does Romans 7:2-3 Mean There Is No “Exception Clause” to the Command Not to Divorce?

Posted on December 3, 2014 by


Some Scripture to consider before getting married…

Much love, my precious sisters!

The Peaceful Wife

Is Romans 7:2-3  “proof” that “there is no exception clause” to allow for divorce in Scripture?  And because Jesus only talked about possible exceptions to the command to stay married and not divorce in one gospel, Matthew, does that mean that the exception clause doesn’t exist?

I sent out Romans 7:2-3 in a brief FB post yesterday because I hadn’t included that passage in any of my posts about divorce because someone brought that passage to my attention, and I had not included it in posts about divorce before.

For example, by law a married woman is bound to her husband as long as he is alive, but if her husband dies, she is released from the law that binds her to him. So then, if she has sexual relations with another man while her husband is still alive, she is called an adulteress. But if her husband dies, she…

View original post 1,520 more words

Posted in: Uncategorized