I Don’t Have to Be “The Most Beautiful Girl” in the Room

Posted on April 20, 2015 by


IMG_2491

What do you think when you look in the mirror, my precious sister?

I am an identical twin. I know the pain of being CONSTANTLY compared to someone else in every single way. Other people compared us all day long every day. And we compared ourselves, too. You never want to be the ugly twin, the fat twin, the stupid twin, etc… What a destructive way to live! Constantly comparing ourselves to other people.

It is enough to be myself – my new self in Christ. It is enough to be who God made me to be. It is enough that God loves me and I am His.

When I belong to Christ, I am free from this world and its ways of thinking. I don’t have to be a slave to fashion, to the beauty industry, to worldly ideas about beauty, or to the comparing game anymore!!!!! WOOHOO! I don’t have to reveal my body to everyone. I can show respect for myself, for my sexuality, for God, and for others by dressing modestly. I don’t have to “show the world what I’ve got.” I don’t have to try to win the approval of other people. I don’t have to care if they like how I look or not.

God loves variety. Every flower is beautiful to Him. Every creature brings Him delight and glory. Every person is precious and beautiful to Him. We don’t have to look a certain way for Him to accept us.

Our worth is not in our appearance, my precious sisters! Our worth doesn’t come from anything this world can measure.

My worth does not come from my beauty, my college degree, my paycheck, my clothes, my hair, my relationship status, how pretty my house is, whether I have children, how fit I am at the moment, or any of these things that seem to matter so much in our world.

Instead of thinking, “I must be the most beautiful girl in the room, in the school, at my job, or in the world” – I can think things like:

– I thank God for the way He made me.

  • I am fearfully and wonderfully made. (Psalm 139:14)

– I accept the way He made me and what He made is good.

  • God only makes good things (Genesis 1-2).

– I am content with the body God gave me.

  • Godliness with contentment is great gain. (I Timothy 6:6)

– I am confident in my skin because God made me and He gives me my value.

  • I am made in the image of God. (Genesis 1:27)

– I am confident in His love. I will rest in God’s love and in His peace.

  • Now we who have believed enter that rest. (Hebrews 4:3)

– I long for the inner beauty that delights God that He cherishes so much.  That is what true feminine beauty is to my Lord. He can and will develop this radiant heavenly beauty in me.

  • a gentle, peaceful, still, tranquil spirit that is full of total trust in God and does what is right, not giving way to fear (I Peter 3:3-6).

– It’s ok that there are women in the world who are more physically beautiful than I am. I don’t have to compete with anyone.

  • I can be content in all circumstances, whether I am the most physically beautiful or the least physically beautiful woman through Christ who gives me strength. (Philippians 4:12-13)

– I will rest in God’s unfathomable love for me. When I become insecure, I will look to the cross and remember the Love that came from heaven to rescue me and claim me for Himself.

  • For God so loved [my name] that he gave his one and only Son, that [if I believe] in him [I] shall not perish but have eternal life. (John 3:16)

– Even if my worst fears were to happen one day – as long as I have Christ, His Spirit, and His Word, I have all that I need.

  • There is no fear in love. His perfect love casts out all fear. (1 John 4:18)

– My value doesn’t come from my external beauty, it comes from my relationship with Jesus and the beauty He is creating in my heart, mind, and soul.

  • Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. (Proverbs 31:30)

– I may put some effort into looking my best at times, but I am not going to make outer beauty or thinness or any worldly thing into the most important thing or one of the top things in my life. Competing with other women to be “the most beautiful” is a worldly pursuit, not a heavenly one. When those who belong to Christ enter heaven, we will all have amazing new glorified, perfect bodies. But even heaven won’t be about us or our looks, it will be about Jesus! Just like our lives on earth should be about Jesus even now.

  • For since there is jealousy and quarreling among you, are you not worldly? Are you not acting like mere humans? (I Corinthians 3:3)

– I find my purpose, my fulfillment, my contentment, my peace, my joy, my greatest delight, my identity, and my Greatest Treasure in Christ alone. He is the only source of my security.

  • Some may trust in external beauty, fashion, wealth, men, politics, the economy, marriage, children, romance, happiness, or other worldly things. Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the Lord our God. (Psalm 20:7)

– God will never change His mind about me. My hope is in Christ alone. 

  • be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” (Hebrews 13:5)

I am praying that God will work in you and that His love and beauty will radiate from your face and from your life in ways that cause your life to shine unmistakably for Christ!

RELATED:

Godly Femininity

