Desperation for Things and People Is Unnecessary

Posted on June 15, 2015 by


july02 006

It seems that desperation is the norm these days. So many singles are completely obsessed with finding “the one,” getting married, and having a family – even Christians. Married women seem desperate to have their husbands’ love. Married men seem desperate to have their wives’ respect. Many are desperate for money, for beauty, for the perfect job, for children, for youth… These are all good things. But I am very concerned about the attitude with which many people are pursuing these good things.

If I am thinking things like this (and it is not about my desire for Jesus), it is a red flag to me:

  • I HAVE to have that!
  • If I don’t get this thing that I want, I can’t go on.
  • I’ll do whatever it takes to get this.
  • I’ll be devastated if I don’t get that.

A Christian who is yielded to the Lordship of Christ need not be desperate for anything or anyone – other than Jesus!

He is our Good Shepherd (Psalm 23). He provides in abundance for our needs. He is the sovereign King of the universe and Creator of all that exists. God holds all power in His hands. Why would His children need to fly around in a tizzy about anything when He is our Father who loves us more than anyone and who was willing to sacrifice His only Son on our behalf?

If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all—how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things? Romans 8:31-32

  • Let’s wait at His feet.
  • Let’s trust His timing.
  • Let’s lay down our desires before Him and allow Him to decide if, when, and how they will be fulfilled or not.
  • Let’s learn to rest in His peace in the midst of uncertainty.
  • Let’s be content in Christ alone even if we don’t receive our deepest desires.
  • Let’s ask God to have our desires and to fill us up with a wholehearted desire for Himself!
  • Let’s desire Christ, knowing Him, loving Him, pleasing Him, and being available and useful to Him more than anything else in this world!

Things of this world and people cannot provide real joy, satisfaction, contentment, and purpose. Only Jesus can give these things. He is the Greatest Treasure there is in the universe! If we receive the things or relationships we long for – and we are walking in obedience to Christ and not running ahead of Him – wonderful! Let’s be thankful to Him for the gifts He provides and continue seeking Him with all our hearts. But if we don’t receive the things or relationships we long for in this world, let’s look forward with great anticipation to what God plans to do in our lives and let’s trust Him completely.

The ironic thing is, the more desperate we are for things or people – the more we tend to repel or destroy the very things we want most (the things we put above God in our heart- our idols). But as we are content in Christ, that contentment, peace, joy, gentleness, patience, and the fruit of God’s Spirit attracts others who are content in Christ. And as we have more and more of Christ, we become filled to overflowing with His Living Water.

Let’s determine to be content in Him no matter what our circumstances may be. He is more than enough!

Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:7-10

I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  I can do all this through him who gives me strength. Philippians 4:11-13

